skip navigation

Malcolmson, Larsen named Journal Sentinel HS hockey Players of the Year

05/15/2018, 8:00pm CDT
By Michael Trzinski, WiPH Staff & Submitted

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar serves as special guest

Hadley Malcolmson of the Brookfield Glacier and Garrett Larsen of Waukesha were named the second annual Journal Sentinel High School Sports Awards winners for ice hockey, it was announced Monday evening at the Pabst Theatre. The awards are sponsored by Aurora Sports Health.

The red-carpet event, which featured NBA legend Kareem Abdul-Jabbar as the special guest, awarded area player of the year honors in 23 sports plus recognized a coach of the year and honored athletes for their service to their community and perseverance through injury and personal hardships.

Malcolmson, a sophomore forward, scored 73 points (54g-19a) last season, giving her a two-season total of 127 points (92g-35a) for the Glacier.

Larsen, a junior netminder, led his Wings squad to the state semis, where they fell to Eau Claire Memorial 2-1 in double overtime.

For the year, Larsen stopped pucks at a rate of .952 and allowed only 1.21 goals per game. He had three shutouts. His career stats show a save percentage of .936, with a GAA of 1.47 and 11 shutouts. 

Finalists and nominees are shown below. Congrats to all players!!

BOYS HOCKEY: Winner – Garrett Larsen, Waukesha South. Other finalists – Drew Gebhardt, Homestead; Robby Newton, University School. Other nominees – Jaxson Carr, Arrowhead; Kevin Broda, Waukesha South; Kylar Fenton, University School; Peyton Hart, Kettle Moraine; Zach Schmidt, Marquette.

GIRLS HOCKEY: Winner – Hadley Malcolmson, Waukesha West. Other finalists – Other nominees – Emily Nettesheim, Arrowhead; Juliana Strother, Divine Savior Holy Angels. Other nominees - Megan McPike, Divine Savior Holy Angels; Mary Kremer, Sussex Hamilton; Hannah Gold, University School; Karly Lemoreaux, Shorewood; Kiia Paljakka, Homestead.

Tag(s): Home  Around the State  Arrowhead  KMMO  Marquette  University School  Waukesha  Homestead  Arrowhead  Brookfield  USM Wildcats  Lightning