skip navigation

Seth Gehrke earns Al Welling Memorial Scholarship

By Michael Trzinski, WiPH Staff, 03/10/18, 10:30AM CST


Phillips forward named 14th annual winner

Seth Gehrke of Phillips was named the 14th annual Al Welling Memorial Scholarship Fund winner, it was announced Saturday morning at the Senior Class Tournament in Waupun.

Jeff Schmidt presented a $1500 check to Gehrke after the Section 2 game, along with Seth's mom, Kim.

past al welling memorial scholarship winners

Year Player School
2017 Johnny Welsch FDL Springs
2016 Tanner Schafer Spooner
2015 Jack Nejedlo Fond du Lac
2014 Justin Runde Janesville
2013 Nate Teuscher Mad East/LaFollette
2012 Carl Beglinger Mad Edgewood
2011 Brendan Ahern FDL Springs
Year Player School
2010 Brett Baur Marshfield
2009 Evan Weber Northland Pines
2008 Joel Schmocker Park Falls
2007 Chris Kein Hudson
2006 James Safford Lakeland
2005 Ryan Samz Sauk Prairie

Al's story

The legacy of Al Welling and the way he positively impacted every hockey game he officiated is what we continue to celebrate by recognizing a young man or woman who is chosen each spring!

Al always said, "The best games you officiate are when no one knows your on the ice." Al accomplished this by communicating, befriending players and coaches.

When Al walked into a rink with his skates and whistle, everyone was thrilled he was there to officiate their game. All knew Al had a crew of officials along side him who would call the game the way he and his brother Denny taught them.

With a sense of enthusiasm and an approach that made all players and coaches realize Al wanted to have fun and enjoy a hard fought hockey game that was to be decided by the players on the ice and not the officials!

It's our second decade of awarding a scholarship in his honor to a WIAA senior who most represents what Al stood for.

Al, we will never forget your grace and how you made each game of hockey and every day of life special...we will carry on your legacy forever!