skip navigation

WGHCA Award Winners

By Delmar Scanlon, WiPH Staff, 03/04/18, 2:00AM CST


All-State Teams, Ms Hockey Wisconsin & Coach of the Year

ms hockey wisconsin finalists

abigail stow, ms hockey wisconsin

Sara Durst, WGHCA Coach of the Year

The WGHCA Coach of the Year did not win the most games. She did not have a team that went deep into the playoffs. What she did do is save a hockey season/team for the Badger Lightning. She was an example of giving back to a sport she loves and helping young ladies experience the compassion of a coach that cared about others.

This was a one and done season for head coach Sara Durst. Sara wanted to make sure players had a team and season this year. She understood what players went through having a small team sprinkled with first year players. She understands sacrificing for others. As an eighth grader, Sara came out for hockey to help make sure her classmates and friends had a team to play on.

In March of 2018, the United States Marine Corp will be lucky enough to have Sara as one of their own.

Sara may be working to be looked as "One of the few, the proud, A Marine". However, amongst the WIAA girls hockey community she already has accomplish being one of the few.

Congratulations Sara on the award. Thank you for your service, but most of all thank you for being you and an example for many,

WGHCA First Team All-State Forwards

WGHCA First Team All-State Defense

WGHCA First Team All-State Goaltenders

WGHCA Second Team All-State Forwards

WGHCA Second Team All-State Defense

WGHCA Second Team All-State Goaltenders

WGHCA Honorable Mention Team All-State Forwards

WGHCA Honorable Mention Team All-State Defense

WGHCA Honorable Mention Team All-State Goaltenders

first team

Abigail Stow, ECA Stars
Ava Kison, ECA Stars
Hadley Malcolmson, Brookfield Glacier
Maggy Henschler, Rock County Fury
Markie Ash, Wis Valley Union
Alyssa Heim, Warbirds/Beaver Dam

Anna Wilgren, Hudson
Charlotte Akervik, ECA Stars
Mia Dunning, Bay Area
Liisa Kramer, Appleton United

Cassie Schultz, Hudson
McKaylie Buescher, Rock County Fury

second team

Kamryn Jacobs, St. Croix Valley
Sydney Hendricks, Hudson
Maddy Jablonski, Fox Cities Stars
Lauryn Hull, Fox Cities Stars
Lexie Nelson, Hudson
Khloe Spors, Black River Falls

Margo Thousand, Cap City
Molly Schuett, Hudson
Dani Heitsman, Rock County Fury
Brooklynn Arbs, ECA Stars

Pistol Cowden, Wis Valley Union
Josie Mathison, Black River Falls

honorable mention

Jade Williams, Western WI Stars
Megan McPike, University School
Sarah Pearson, Hayward
Kendra Robinson, Wis Valley Union
Addie Young, Superior
Anna Albrightson, St. Croix Valley
Baileigh Johnson, Black River Falls
Mary Kremer, Arrowhead

Erin Gruber, Central Wisconsin
Avrey Simonson, Wis Valley Union
Drew Deanovich, Warbirds/Beaver Dam
Tori Nelson, Fox Cities Stars
Hannah Gold, University School
Kristin Deffner, Central Wisconsin
Katy Anderson, St. Croix Valley

Emily Nettesheim, Arrowhead
Ivy Shonka, Viroqua