skip navigation

18th Annual Groundhog tourney takes place this week

01/22/2018, 7:00pm CST
By Michael Trzinski, WiPH Staff & Submitted

Eight teams from four different conferences to compete

screen capture slideshow image courtesy of wisc-tv 3

Sun Prairie, WI, January 23rd, 26th, & 27th

Sun Prairie, Madison Memorial (Big 8), Waunakee, DeForest (Badger North), Monona Grove, Oregon (Badger South), Kettle Moraine, Waukesha (Classic Eight) will compete for the annual Groundhog title.  All games on January 23rd will be considered league games and will be played at the home teams rink.  All games on January 26th and 27th will be played at Sun Prairie Ice Arena.  

The tournament brings 4 conferences together for great crossover competition which will play a huge role in playoff seeding.  Team rosters and stats will be available to media inside the evaluation room on the west side of the Cardinal rink at Sun Prairie Ice Arena.  If you plan to attend please RSVP ahead of time so we assure your admission is covered and you are directed to the appropriate location. Attached is a tournament bracket for reference.

Sun Prairie Hockey Booster Club is a non-profit organization dedicated to providing opportunities for local hockey players to enjoy the benefits of participating in athletics.  

If you would like more information please contact Chris Finkler at (262)751-9653 or

Tag(s): Home  Around the State  Boys Varsity  Badger East  DeForest  Waunakee  Badger West  Monona Grove  Oregon  Big Eight  Madison Memorial  Sun Prairie  Classic Eight  KMMO  Waukesha