skip navigation

Josie Johnson earns Player of the Year award

03/06/2011, 5:44pm CST
By WiPH Staff

Johnson, Drake, and Cranston named as top players

 Josie Johnson, Hillary Drake, and Alice Cranston were honored Friday as being the top girls players at a ceremony held at the Alliant Energy Center.

The room was overflowing with fans, parents and players coming to see the award presentation.  It was great to see the interest and hope everyone comes back next season.

Even though the WGHCA had announced the night before the winner of the  "WGHCA Coach of the Year" and "Ms. Hockey Wisconsin", Hayli Hupp (President of the WGHCA) was gracious enough to announce the winners again.  First she announced Michael Johnson of the Sun Prairie Co-op as the WGHCA Coach of the Year.

Once Coach Johnson was on the stage, Hayli announced that Josie Johnson was named "Ms. Hockey Wisconsin" and her dad/coach presented her with the engraved trophy.

The next award presented was the Jessie Vetter Award.  The ten finalists were announced:


Hillary Drake, Central Wisconsin Storm
Lauren Scobie, Chippewa Falls/Menomonie Co-op Cardinals
Jordyn Bunce, ECA Stars
Jennifer DeGeorge, Kettle Moraine Co-op Glaciers
Kim Van Brunt, Northland Pines Eagles
McKenzie Guth, Onalaska Hilltoppers
Caitlyn Gusk, Rock County Fury
Kalli Armagost, St. Croix Valley Fusion
Janna Bielke-Skoug, Sun Prairie Co-op Cougars
Emily Wigdale, USM Wildcats

For the second year in a row, the winner was Hillary Drake of the Central Wisconsin Storm.

The inaugural Jinelle Siergiej Award was presented.  It was announced that the award was for the "Overall Offensive Player of the Year".  The award was to go beyond the total points a player had for the season.  Once again the ten finalists were named:

Anna Westmark, Appleton United
Lauren Roethlisberger, Bay Area Ice Bears
Macki Fadness, ECA Stars
Katherine Nejedlo, Fond du Lac Co-op Warbirds
Alyssa Ahlgren, Hayward/Spooner Hurricanes
Theresa Knutson, Onalaska Hilltoppers
Paige Charland, New Richmond Tigers
Jade Clement, South Central Freeze
Alice Cranston, St. Croix Valley Fusion
Josie Johnson, Sun Prairie Co-op Cougars

The winner was Alice Cranston of the St. Croix Valley Fusion.

The last award of the day was the inaugural Molly Engstrom Award.  It was explained that the award was for the "Overall Defensive Player of the Year".  The coaches were asked to nominate a player from their team.  The top ten finalists were named:

Jessica Krempa, Appleton United
Kendra Bowe, Chippewa Falls/Menomonie Co-op Cardinals
Katelin Polaksoki, Fond du Lac Co-op Warbirds
Kelly Ahlgren, Hayward/Spooner Hurricanes
Paige Johnson, Marshfield Tigers
Winter Nielsen, Northland Pines Eagles
Jayda Hoerres, Onalaska Hilltoppers
Nikki Plunkett, St. Croix Valley Fusion
Josie Johnson, Sun Prairie Co-op Cougars
Kendall Nelson, Tomahawk Hatchets

The winner was Josie Johnson of the Sun Prairie Co-op Cougars.

The first two years of these awards has gone extremely well and we look forward to presenting them in the years to come.

Tag(s): Home  Around the State  Girls Varsity  Badger  Cap City Cougars  Big Rivers  St. Croix Valley  Great Northern  Central Wisconsin