skip navigation

Dozen state players selected in NAHL Draft

By Michael Trzinski, WiPH Staff, 06/08/17, 7:30PM CDT


List includes nine current or former WIAA players

The North American Hockey League (NAHL) held its annual entry draft Tuesday, June 6 and twelve Wisconsin players were chosen by the Tier II league.

The following current or former WIAA players were selected:

  • Round 2 (26th overall), Josh Bohlin, F, Wausau West
  • Round 2 (35th), Justin Engelkes, F, Middleton
  • Round 3 (47th), Kellen Tharaldson, D, Wausau West
  • Round 4 (90th), Chase Davidson, D, Menomonie
  • Round 5 (102nd), Kevin Ford, F, Waunakee
  • Round 6 (140th), James Furey, F, Cedarburg
  • Round 7 (149th), Grant Reichenbacher, F, Madison Edgewood
  • Round 8 (165th), Jack Gorniak, F, West Salem
  • Round 10 (224th), Cory Dennis, D, Madison Memorial

Bohlin and Gorniak will be seniors during the 2017-18 season.

Engelkes, Tharaldson, and Furey graduated this spring.

Davidson and  Ford were 2016 graduates. Dennis graduated in 2015.

Reichenbacher left Edgewood after his junior season and played 38 combined games for Lincoln and Sioux Falls in the USHL last year.

Other Wisconsin players chosen were Hugh Anderson (Green Bay), Nathan Severtson (Madison), and Burton Rehm (Sun Prairie).