skip navigation

Ian Malcolmson earns Player of the Year Award

By Michael Trzinski, WiPH Staff & Submitted, 03/01/17, 7:45PM CST


Waukesha star beats out seven other deserving candidates

Ian Malcolmson of Waukesha was named as Player of the Year, as voted by the Wisconsin Hockey Coaches Association.

Other finalists were:

  • Tyler Husnick, Antigo
  • Dawson Schwengler, EC Memorial
  • Hunter Schwehr, Fox Cities
  • Chase Blackmun, Hudson
  • Jordan Steinmetz, Chippewa Falls
  • Sam Dunn, Sun Prairie
  • Matthew Gruber, Appleton United

Voters considered not only on-ice ability, but off-ice attributes such as scholastic standing and community service.

Any of these eight players would have been a worthwhile choice. Congrats to all!