skip navigation

WiPH Award Finalists (Updated w/ Winners)

03/04/2017, 11:30am CST
By Bill Berg Jr, WiPH Staff

The finalists for the 2016-2017 Wisconsin Prep Hockey Awards

Wisconsin Prep Hockey is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2016-2017 Wisconsin Prep Hockey Awards.  For a rundown of the nomination and voting process, please read this post on Wisconsin Prep Hockey detailing the voting process from previous awards.

The finalists are presented alphabetically by team. Winners will be announced at a ceremony on Saturday morning (March 4)  at 9:00 in the banquet room above the Coliseum Bar, located across the street from the Alliant Energy Center. The public is invited and encouraged to attend.

Updated 3/4: We held the award ceremony this morning with nearly all of our nominees in attendance. We thank everybody who was there, and those that wanted to be but couldn't. The post below has been updated to reflect the winners.


Jinelle Siergiej Award

Jinelle is from Eagle River, WI and played hockey for the Northland Pines High School boys’ hockey team.  Jinelle was a member of the USA Women’s hockey team, which won a silver medal at the 2010 Olympics.  She played 160 games as a member of the Wisconsin Badger Women’s hockey team from 2004-08.  During that time she scored 89 goals (including 29 power-play goals and 22 game winning goals), collected 67 assists and was on two national championship teams.

2016-2017 Finalists:

  • Alyssa Heim, Beaver Dam Co-Op
  • Katelyn Ramthun, Central Wisconsin
  • Abigail Stow, Eau Claire-Altoona - Winner
  • Ava Kison, Eau Claire-Altoona
  • Amanda Sergent, Northland Pines
  • Markie Ash, Waupaca

Joe Pavelski Award

Pavelski won a silver medal for the United States at the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver. Pavelski led the Stevens Point Panthers to their only state hockey title in 2002 and in 2004 he lead the Waterloo Blackhawks of the USHL to the Clark Cup Champsionship. He was named to the All-WCHA Rookie Team in 2005 with the UW Badger hockey team, and won an NCAA championship with the Badgers in 2006 while leading the team in points. He is currently a member of the San Jose Sharks, and part owner of the Janesville Jets (NAHL).

2016-2017 Finalists:

  • Jordan Steinmetz, Chippewa Falls
  • Hunter Schwehr, Fox Cities
  • Aaron Grounds, Hudson
  • Cole Caufield, SPASH
  • Ian Malcolmson, Waukesha - Winner


Molly Engstrom Award

Molly is from Siren, WI.  She played for the UW-Badger Women’s hockey team from 2001-05.  Molly played on the 2006 and 2010 USA Women’s Olympic hockey teams.  She was awarded the Directorate Award for Best Defenseman at the Vancouver 2010 Olympics.  She has been a five time member of the U.S. Women’s National Team for the International Ice Hockey Federation World Women’s Championship.  Her teams won the gold medal in 2005, 2008 and 2009.  They won the silver medal in 2004 and 2007.  In 2007, Molly was the IIHF World Championships top defenseman.

2016-2017 Finalists:

  • Morgan Zirbel, Bay Area
  • Charlotte Akervik, Eau Claire-Altoona
  • Drew Deanovich, Fond du Lac
  • Anna Wilgren, Hudson - Winner
  • Emma Peterson, Superior

Davis Drewiske Award

Drewiske won the Wisconsin Hockey Coaches Assocation's Player of the Year award in 2003 while playing for his hometown Hudson Raiders. Drewiske was a four-year member of the UW Badger hockey team, including being the team's captain in his senior season. He won an NCAA championship with the Badgers in 2006. Drewiske was a member of the LA Kings, and won the Stanley Cup in 2012.  Davis is currently an assistant coach for the Hudson Raiders.

2016-2017 Finalists:

  • Elijah Tormala, Arrowhead
  • Dawson Schwengler, Eau Claire Memorial
  • Chase Blackmun, Hudson - Winner
  • Braden LaPorte, Superior
  • Kellen Theraldson, Wausau West


Jessie Vetter Award

Jessie played goalie for Monona Grove Silver Eagles and states that girls hockey was not available then.  Jessie went on to play for the UW Badgers Women's team, where she was part of three NCAA National Championship teams.  She finished her collegiate career with 91 wins, 39 shutouts and a 0.941 save percentage.  Her senior year, Jessie won the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, which is given to the nation's top women's hockey player.  She has two world championship medals and  a silver medal from the 2010 Winter Olympics.

2016-2017 Finalists:

  • Ana Holzbach, Bay Area - Winner
  • Chloe Westberg, Central Wisconsin
  • Rebecca Binder, Fond du Lac
  • Lauren Tremblay, Hayward
  • Erin Sparks, Lakeland
  • Ivy Shonka, Viroqua

Kirk Daubenspeck Award

Daubenspeck, a Madison native, played one year of high school hockey with Madison East before going to Culver Military Academy. He joined the Badgers in 93, behind Jim Carey and took over as the starter the following season. He was named an All-American, and in his final game with the Badgers he stopped 75 shots in a 1-0 loss to Colorado College that lasted four overtimes. After his career with the Badgers he played 9 seasons of minor league hockey in the IHL, AHL and ECHL.

2016-2017 Finalists:

  • Ben Bartletti, Antigo
  • Trevor Hudecek, Eau Claire Memorial
  • Anthony Howard, Hudson - Winner
  • Sam Dunn, Sun Prairie
  • Garrett Larsen, Waukesha

Adam Burish Award

This year Wisconsin Prep Hockey is introducing the Adam Burish award for one "unsung hero." This player, while not grabbing headlines or competing for the Player of the Year Award, shows the skills and dedication to hockey and his team on and off the ice that every coach is looking for.

After a successful high school career Burish played for the Green Bay Gamblers of the USHL before four years at the University of Wisconsin. He was the captain of the Badgers' 2006 national championship team. He played nine years in the NHL, with the Blackhawks, Stars and Sharks, and was on the Blackhawks 2010 Stanley Cup winning team. 

The winner of this award was selected by Burish himself after nominations by the Wisconsin Hockey Coaches Association members, and will be announced at the Wisconsin Prep Hockey Awards Ceremony.

The 2016-2016 Adam Burish Unsung Hero award winner is Hunter Ricklefs from Wausau West.

Hunter Ricklefs of Wausau West

Tag(s): Home  WiPH Exclusives  Awards