skip navigation

TW readies for battle in MN CCM tournament

By Michael Trzinski, 04/14/14, 7:30PM CDT


Senior team and U17s will both compete for Wisconsin

For the first time in the five year history of the CCM High School National Invitational Tournament, Team Wisconsin will send a pair of squads west to Plymouth, Minnesota to compete for the coveted NIT title.

The Senior team has already been finalized, with the twenty player roster chosen after the Wisconsin Senior Class Tournament. The U18 team will consist of high school juniors (96 or 97 birthyear) that were selected from last weekend's Select 17 Festival held in Green Bay. 

For the first time, the CCM tourney will include eight teams, competing in four-team pools.

POOL A: Massachusetts, MN Seniors, Team Wisconsin U18, Michigan Seniors

POOL B: MN U18, North Dakota, Michigan U18, Team Wisconsin Seniors

Pool play will begin on Thursday, April 24th and will conclude on Saturday, April 26th. Final rounds games will take place on Sunday, April 27th starting at 8:00am with the seventh-place contest and will conclude with the title game to be held at 1:00pm.

The TW senior team won the inaugural CCM tourney in 2010, defeating North Dakota 4-1 for the championship. Their overall record (including preliminary round games) is 7-8-1.

team wisconsin senior roster

Number Name Position Team
1 Ryan Wischow G Ashwaubenon
2 Sam Schultz D Arrowhead
3 Robby Fosdick D Brookfield/CMH
4 Luke Davison D Notre Dame
5 Drew Kelly D Somerset
6 Krystof Kocanek D Bay Port
7 Chuck Bennis D Eau Claire Memorial
8 Caleb Schroer F Wisconsin Rapids
9 Zach Kennedy F Northland Pines
10 Brett Gruber F Notre Dame
11 Zed Dietrich F Waukesha
12 Mason Appleton F Notre Dame
14 Jared Erickson F Waupaca
15 Aussie Miller F Stoughton
16 Jarod Zirbel F Notre Dame
17 Ryan Mezera F Homestead
18 Aaron Miller F Superior
19 Charlie Parker F Verona
20 Jake Bresser F Eau Claire Memorial
22 Jacob Stephan G Northland Pines

Coach Tim Ebner
Coach Dan Gilkerson
Coach Joel Marshall
GM Dave Witting
GM Mike Connor

team wisconsin u18 roster

Number Name Position Team
1 Tony Rehm G Madison Edgewood
2 Bret Schwengler D Eau Claire Memorial
3 Connor Freeman D KMMO
4 Ryan Swenson D Chippewa Falls
5 Mason Etter D Cedarburg
6 Grant Hanson D Superior
7 Casey Esselman D Wisconsin Rapids
8 Jack Nejedlo F Fond du Lac
9 Connor Blanck F FDL Springs
10 Caleb Blank F Onalaska
11 Jordan Fader F Rice Lake
12 Collin Appleton F Notre Dame
14 Mitchell Gerhartz F Neenah
15 Reed Kelly F Somerset
16 Parker Shefveland F Hudson
17 Wyatt Dove F Hudson
18 Anthony Grebe F FDL Springs
19 Logan Froberg F Bay Port
20 Austin Romanoski F Hudson
22 Nathan Siclovan G SPASH

Coach Eric Fenton
Coach Marcus Novy
Coach Mike Schwengler
GM Dave Witting
GM Mike Connor

2014 CCM nit schedule