skip navigation

Runde tabbed as Al Welling Scholarship winner

By Michael Trzinski, 03/16/14, 9:45AM CDT


Janesville player is 10th recipient of scholarship

Janesville's Justin Runde was named as the recipient of the Al Welling Memorial Scholarship, it was announced Saturday at the Senior Class Tournament in Waupun.

Runde, a senior forward, tallied 12 points last season on seven goals and five helpers for the Bluebirds.

The Al Welling Memorial Scholarship fund was developed to carry on Al's legacy. The annual scholarship fund is awarded to a WIAA hockey playing HS Senior who best displays on and off the ice a commitment to giving back to his/her community.

The $1500 scholarship is given in honor of Welling, a Madison-area referee who passed away in 2004 and was elected to the Wisconsin Hockey Hall of Fame in 2007.

al welling scholarship winners

Year Player Team
2014 Justin Runde Janesville
2013 Nate Teuscher Madison East/LaFollette
2012 Carl Beglinger Madison Edgewood
2011 Brendan Ahern FDL Springs
2010 Brett Baur Marshfield
2009 Evan Weber Northland Pines
2008 Joel Schmocker Park Falls
2007 Chris Kein Hudson
2006 James Safford Lakeland
2005 Ryan Samz Sauk Prairie

Group Photo:

(From left)
Dan Lampe, Dennis Welling, Justin Runde, Mark Greenhalgh, Diane Runde, Jeff Schmidt