skip navigation

Player of the Year finalists named

By Michael Trzinski, 02/24/14, 10:30AM CST


Seven forwards and one d-man make up 2014 field

The American Family Insurance / WHCA Player of the Year finalists have been voted on by state high school coaches.

After the initial round of voting, the members of the Wisconsin Hockey Coaches Association have cut the list of players from 28 down to eight, it was announced this week.

The final group of eight will be honored at the POTY / State Tournament banquet, which will be held at the Turners Hall in Madison on Wednesday, March 5, the night before 'Quarterfinal Thursday.'

The eight finalists are:

  • Mason Appleton, Notre Dame
  • Matt Berkovitz, Ashwaubenon
  • Jake Bresser, Eau Claire Memorial
  • Zed Dietrich, Waukesha
  • Brett Gruber, Notre Dame
  • Charlie Parker, Verona
  • Caleb Schroer, Wisconsin Rapids
  • Michael Wilson, Fond du Lac

The WHCA coaches will vote on the finalists, with the winner to be announced at the POTY / State banquet on March 5.

The Selection Process

STEP ONE » Coaches nominate player(s)

The criteria for the AFI/WHCA’s Player of the Year Award (in no particular order):

  • Outstanding performance on the ice
  • Academic achievement
  • Community role model
  • Must be a senior

If you are going to nominate a player, you must write a 1/2-1 page biography using the above-listed criteria.


Each head coach will select their top five candidates, based on the player bios, which will narrow the field to the “8 Finalists.”


Coaches vote for Player of the Year from the list of 8 finalists.