skip navigation

2013 Red Flint Meltdown

By Bill Berg, 11/24/13, 6:15PM CST


November 29 & 30, Eau Claire

Eau Claire Memorial High School in Eau Claire, Wisconsin is hosting the 3rd annual Red Flint Hockey Tournament November 29-30th, 2013. Once again some of the best programs in the state of Wisconsin are in Eau Claire for hockey fans enjoy over the weekend. This year the defending state champion Eau Claire Memorial Old Abes will compete with state powers Notre Dame Academy Tritons, Wausau West Warriors, and the Superior Spartans. In just 2 years this tournament has become one of the top events in the state. All four teams have represented their sections in the state tournament the last 4 years with Wausau West winning the championship in 2011, NDA 2012, and ECM 2013. It has definitely become a true tournament of champions.

Of these four programs the following players  played in the Elite league(U18) or are played on the Team Wisconsin U16 AAA team this fall and in the spring.

ECM: (18)Chuck Bennis, Jake Bresser, Charley Grasskamp (16) Bret Schwengler, Dylan Ross

NDA: (18) Jarod Zirbel, Mason Appleton, Brett Gruber, Luke Davidson (16) Jett Jaraczewski, Collin Appleton, Sam McCormick

WEST: (16) Adam Parsells, Kevin Conley

Superior: (18) Aaron Miller

Of this list in the past year Jake Bresser (Waterloo), Charley Grasskamp (Tri City), Luke Davidson (Chicago), Sam McCormick (Sioux City &  committed to Ohio State), Tony Stillwell (Sioux City & committed to Wisconsin),  Adam Parcells (Green Bay), and Kevin Conley (Youngstown & committed to U of Denver) were drafted this past year by USHL teams and Chuck Bennis and Charley Grasskamp are on the early NHL Central Scouting watch list.

Over the past 6 years these programs have produced the following players:


Jefferson Dahl UW Wisconsin, Jake McCabe UW Wisconsin/ NHL draft pick (Buffalo), Seth Soley Michigan Tech/St Norbert College, Andrew McCabe U of Omaha/UW Eau Claire, David Donnellan Western Michigan/UW Eau Claire, Alex Dahl St Lawrence U, Michael Kapla U Mass Lowell, Issiah Bennis UW Eau Claire, Saxton Soley St. Johns U, Shayne McLaughlin UW Stout, Hunter Scott UW Stout


Max McCormick Ohio State/ NHL draft pick (Ottawa), Tony Kujava  St. Norbert College, Ross Pavek St. Norbert College, Riley Christensen  Northern Cyclones (USPHL), Steven Phillips Yorkton (SJHL), Jason Reynolds  Iron Rangers (SIJHL) Chris Nell  Chicago (USHL), Tim Davison UW Wisconsin, Austin Vieth  Waterloo (USHL)

Wausau West:

Nate Condon U of Minnesota, Derek Knetter UW Eau Claire Mitch Borneman UW Superior Garret Clemment  Lake Superior State, Anthony Caroselli Niagara University (NY) Austin Priebe Committed to Air Force (2014) Kyle Lee  NAHL (Fairbanks Ice Dogs) John Feemster St. Olaf College (MN)

If you are looking to continue your watch list or are interested in seeing some of the best talent in the state under one roof, it doesn’t get better than this. State champion caliber teams coming together on November 29th and 30th, 2013.

NOVEMBER 29 -30TH  HOBBS ICE ARENA Eau Claire, Wisconsin

FRI November 29TH

Junior Varsity

1:00PM       Superior Jv vs Wausau West Jv

3:00pm       EC Memorial Jv vs Notre Dame Academy Jv


5:00pm       Notre Dame Academy Tritons vs Superior Spartans

7:30 pm      Wausau West Warriors vs Eau Claire Memorial Old Abes

Sat November 30th  

Akervik Rink

11:00am JV Consolation

1:00pm   JV Championship      

Obrien Rink

11:30 am Varsity Consolation

2:00pm    Varsity Championship

The following is an area for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. WiPH is not responsible for comments posted by users.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.