skip navigation

Awards Season

By webjr, 02/04/13, 2:30PM CST


Wisconsin Prep Hockey End-of-Season Awards are Approaching

Wisconsin Prep Hockey is expanding its awards portfolio this season. Whereas last year we incorporated the three awards from Wisconsin Girls Hockey (now a part of WiPH), we are adding boys awards this year.  For the 2012-2013 season, our end-of-year awards are:


  • The Jinelle Siergiej Award, for the state's offensive player of the year.
  • The Molly Engstrom Award, for the state's defensive player of the year.
  • The Jessie Vetter Award, for the state's goaltender of the year.


  • The Joe Pavelski Award, for the state's offensive player of the year.
  • The Davis Drewiske Award, for the state's defensive player of the year.
  • The Kirk Daubenspeck, for the state's goaltender of the year.

Girls Awards

Each member of the Wisconsin Girls Hockey Coaching Association had the opportunity to nominate one player on their team for each of the three awards. Coaches were notified that nominations were opened on Wednesday, Jan 23, and nominations were closed on Monday, Jan 28.

On Wednesday, Jan 30, the WGHCA received the final nominees for the awards, and voting has commenced. The coaches will rank their five finalists for each award in order from first through fifth. Wisconsin Prep Hockey will tabulate the votes from the coaches, name the five finalists, and announce the winner at the WIAA State High School Hockey Tournament.

Jinelle Siergiej Award

Jinelle is from Eagle River, WI and played hockey for the Northland Pines High School boys’ hockey team.  She is currently the Head Coach of the Arrowhead Warhawks girls’ varsity hockey team.  Jinelle was a member of the USA Women’s hockey team, which won a silver medal at the 2010 Olympics.  She played 160 games as a member of the Wisconsin Badger Women’s hockey team from 2004-08.  During that time she scored 89 goals (including 29 power-play goals and 22 game winning goals), collected 67 assists and was on two national championship teams.

Previous Winners:

  • 2010-2011: Alice Cranston, St. Croix Valley
  • 2011-2012: Theresa Knutson, Onalaska

Molly Engstrom Award

Molly is from Siren, WI.  She played for the UW-Badger Women’s hockey team from 2001-05.  Molly played on the 2006 and 2010 USA Women’s Olympic hockey teams.  She was awarded the Directorate Award for Best Defenseman at the Vancouver 2010 Olympics.  She has been a five time member of the U.S. Women’s National Team for the International Ice Hockey Federation World Women’s Championship.  Her teams won the gold medal in 2005, 2008 and 2009.  They won the silver medal in 2004 and 2007.  In 2007, Molly was the IIHF World Championships top defenseman.

Previous Winners:

  • 2010-2011: Josie Johnson, Sun Prairie
  • 2011-2012: Paige Johnson, Marshfield

Jessie Vetter Award

Jessie played goalie for Monona Grove Silver Eagles and states that girls hockey was not available then.  Jessie went on to play for the UW Badgers Women's team, where she was part of three NCAA National Championship teams.  She finished her collegiate career with 91 wins, 39 shutouts and a 0.941 save percentage.  Her senior year, Jessie won the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, which is given to the nation's top women's hockey player.  She has two world championship medals and  a silver medal from the 2010 Winter Olympics.

Previous Winners:

  • 2009-2010: Hillary Drake, Central Wisc
  • 2010-2011: Hillary Drake, Central Wisc
  • 2011-2012: Julia Brueggen - Viroqua

Boys Awards

Unlike the girls awards, which are nominated by the WGHCA, the boys award nominees come from the staff at Wisconsin Prep Hockey. The voting process is also slightly longer to accomodate the fact there are 89 teams.

Each member of the Wisconsin Prep Hockey staff will nominate 20 forwards, 15 defensemen and 10 goalies for their respective awards. Any nominee that appears on multiple WiPH ballots will appear on the voting sheet sent to the Wisconsin Hockey Coaches Association.  The coaches and Wisconsin Prep Hockey staff will be asked to rank their top five players at each position. Wisconsin Prep Hockey will tabulate those votes. The finalists will be announced ahead of the state tournament, and the winner will be announced at the state tournament.

Joe Pavelski Award

Pavelski won a silver medal for the United States at the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver. Pavelski lead the Stevens Point Panthers to their first state hockey title in 2002 and in 2004 he lead the Waterloo Blackhawks of the USHL to the Clark Cup Champsionship. He was named to the All-WCHA Rookie Team in 2005 with the UW Badger hockey team, and won an NCAA championship with the Badgers in 2006 while leading the team in points. He is currently a member of the San Jose Sharks, and part owner of the Janesville Jets (NAHL).

Davis Drewiske Award

Drewiske won a the Wisconsin Hockey Coaches Assocation's Player of the Year award in 2003 while playing for his hometown Hudson Raiders. Drewiske was a four-year member of the UW Badger hockey team, including being the team's captain in his senior season. He won an NCAA championship with the Badgers in 2006. Drewiske is currently a member of the LA Kings, and won the Stanley Cup in 2012.

Kirk Daubenspeck Award

Daubenspeck, a Madison native, played one year of high school hockey with Madison East before going to Culver Military Academy. He joined the Badgers in 93, behind Jim Carey and took over as the starter the following season. He was named an All-American, and in his final game with the Badgers he stopped 75 shots in a 1-0 loss to Colorado College that lasted four overtimes. After his career with the Badgers he played 9 seasons of minor league hockey in the IHL, AHL and ECHL.