skip navigation

Erin Connolly is Laura Hurd Award runner-up

03/27/2020, 8:00pm CDT
By AHCA News

UWEC goalie caps off great career

Amanda Conway, a senior forward from Norwich University and Methuen, MA, is the recipient of the 2020 Laura Hurd Award. The award, voted on by the nation's Division III head coaches, is presented to the best player at the NCAA Women's Division III level.

Conway, a three-time CCM/AHCA FirstTeam All America, led the nation in scoring with a line of 32-27-59 in 29 games, topping all Division III players in goals, points and points per game (2.03.) With her leadership, Norwich forged a 23-4-2 record, its season cut short when the NCAA Tournament was cancelled following the Cadets 3-1 win over Amherst in the NCAA opening round.

Said Norwich head coach Sophie Leclerc about Conway, "Her resume shows and fortifies her standing as one of the greatest players in Division III Women's Hockey history. These numbers do not justify who and what Amanda is. 'Conway,' as she is called by teammates, has never lost the essence of who she is despite of all the individual notoriety she has gained. Amanda remains one of the hardest workers day in and day out, both on and off the ice. She has devoted herself to her craft. She has an incomprehensible intrinsic motivation: she wants to be the best she can be for her team, coaches, family, and school.

"Amanda has entrenched herself as an integral member of our team. Being called upon for any and every situation in the game, she has never hesitated and has consistently approached each challenge with vigor. Amanda has been regularly asked to kill penalties, act on the power play, score crucial goals, and prevent crucial goals. She has been able to fill all roles with perfection and commitment."

Conway is the second player from Norwich to win the Hurd Award, following Julie Fortier in 2012. The runner-up for this year's Hurd Award is Erin Connolly, a senior goaltender at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire and a native of Mequon, WI.

Tag(s): Home  Around the State  Girls Varsity  Eastern Shores  Lightning