skip navigation

Erin Connolly named as Laura Hurd POTY finalist in D3

03/20/2020, 1:30pm CDT
By Michael Trzinski, WiPH Staff & Submitted

Former Lakeshore standout finishes stellar career at UWEC

slideshow photo by lynn connolly

Senior UW-Eau Claire goalie Erin Connolly has been named as one of the finalists for the Laura Hurd Award, which will be announced on March 26. The award is presented to the D3 women's Player of the Year.

Connolly was a three-year starter for the Lakeshore Lightning and was the 2016 Miss Hockey award winner, along with winning the Jessie Vetter award in 2016 after being named a finalist in 2015. She was also All-State First Team both years.

Seven players who have distinguished themselves on the ice in 2019-20 have been named finalists for the 2020 Laura Hurd Award, given annually to the best NCAA Division III women's ice hockey player in the country. The list of finalists includes one repeat finalist from 2019: Norwich senior forward Amanda Conway, the NEHC Player of the Year for the third straight year.

Four of the nominees are seniors and three are juniors. All come from the United States, including two from Massachusetts and the others from five different states. Five are forwards, one is a defenseman and one is a goaltender.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Hurd Award honors the memory of former Elmira College standout Laura Hurd. A 2005 graduate of Elmira, and a four-time All-American, Hurd died in an automobile accident shortly after graduation. She was the recipient of the AHCA Player of the Year Award in 2005.

The recipient of this year's Hurd Award will be announced on Thursday, March 26.

Finalists for the 2019-20 Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women's Ice Hockey College Division Player of the Year

Erin Connolly, Senior Goaltender, UW-Eau Claire
(Mequon, WI) WIAC Player of the Year
Amanda Conway, Senior Forward, Norwich University
(Methuen, MA) NEHC Player of the Year
Emma Crocker, Junior Forward, Elmira College
(Abington, MA) UCHC Player of the Year
Annie Katonka, Junior Forward, Plattsburgh State
(Pittsburgh, PA) NEWHL Player of the Year
Madie Leidt, Junior Forward, Middlebury College
(Killingworth, CT) NESCAC Player of the Year
Jade Meier, Senior Forward, Endicott College
(Fairbanks, AK) CHC Player of the Year
Kelly O'Sullivan, Senior Defense, Adrian College
(Inverness, IL) NCHA Player of the Year

Tag(s): Home  Around the State  Lightning