skip navigation

20th Annual Groundhog Tournament 1st round results

01/29/2020, 9:15pm CST
By Kelly Brunson, Sun Prairie Booster Club

Tuesday night results

The first round of the 20th Annual Groundhog Tournament is in the books and teams are looking forward to meeting at Sun Prairie Ice Arena this weekend for more tournament action.  It was an exciting night of hockey around Southern WI with four important conference games deciding the path teams will take into the 2nd round.    

In Big Eight action, Sun Prairie played host to the Madison Memorial Spartans.   The teams were back and forth in the 1st with a 1-1 tie at the end of the period. 

Sun Prairie came out strong with a four goal second period.  Carter Watters and Kaden Brunson tallied a total of eight points for the Cardinals with Watters finishing off his hat-trick late in the 3rd.   The Spartans had goals from Sam Contrucci and Derek Buckalew.   Sun Prairie goalie Alex Liegel fended off 39 shots on the 7-2 win.

WiPH Game Summaries

  • Hudson back on top as state champs

  • 02/22/2021, 11:30am CST , By Bob Burrows,
  • The Raiders defeated defending champion Verona 4-0 Saturday, Feb. 20, in Wisconsin Rapids to claim their fifth state title in school history and third in the last five years.
  • Read More

Traveling west on Hwy 19 was a Badger North matchup as Deforest visited the Ice Pond in Waunakee.

The Warriors showed some depth with five players scoring in their 7-0 victory.  Tyler Hoffman, Danny Reis and Will Roe finished the night with two points each.  Hunter Beck was awarded the shutout taking on 28 shots, while DeForest goalies Joseph Brethouwer and Alexander Kaminsky combined for 32 saves.

The Badger South conference played a big game over on the south side of Dane County as the Silver Eagles from Monona Grove traveled to Oregon Ice Arena.  

Oregon’s Jacob Cameron led the team with four points including a hat-trick, and five other players contributed goals in the 8-0 Panther Victory. 

Oregon’s Colton Dailey was credited with a shutout, while Monona Grove’s Andrew Gilbertson had 48 saves on the night. 

Lastly we head down the I-94 corridor where Naga-Waukee Ice Arena hosted a huge Classic 8 rivalry game between KMMO and Waukesha.   

Hunter Santos from KMMO had the lone goal of the first period, while Josh Little and Tyler Dale both had power play goals for Waukesha in the 2nd.  

Zach Romsos tied the game at 2 early in the 3rd period, before senior defenseman Matthew Metsa found the back of the net on a power play goal for the game winner. 

KMMO goalie Tyler Arnold was awarded the win with 19 saves on the night, while Waukesha goalie Alex Miller stopped 33/36. 

The Sun Prairie Hockey Booster Club is looking forward to hosting all the teams, families and fans this Friday January 31st and Saturday February 1st at Sun Prairie Ice Arena.   

We invite everyone to visit Sun Prairie this weekend for some great high school hockey action and check out the wide variety of Groundhog Day celebrations going on throughout the weekend. 

The Sun Prairie Hockey Booster Club will also be recognizing a local hockey legend on Saturday night for a ceremonial puck drop at the start of the Championship game.  We are excited to recognize Shad Kernen for all he has done as a player, hockey dad and Coach to grow the game in Sun Prairie and Wisconsin!  

Tag(s): Home  Game Summaries  Boys Varsity  Badger North  DeForest  Waunakee  Badger South  Monona Grove  Oregon  Big Eight  Madison Memorial  Sun Prairie  Classic Eight  KMMO  Waukesha