skip navigation

Sun Prairie to Host 20th Annual Groundhog Hockey Tournament

01/27/2020, 5:15pm CST
By Kelly Brunson, Sun Prairie Booster Club

Teams from four conferences will compete

Sun Prairie, Wisconsin – The Sun Prairie High School Hockey program, in conjunction with the Sun Prairie Hockey Booster Club, will host the 20th Annual Groundhog Hockey Tournament at Sun Prairie Ice Arena Jan. 31 – Feb. 1.

“We are excited to welcome players, parents and fans to Sun Prairie for a fantastic weekend of tournament hockey,” said Kelly Brunson, president of the Sun Prairie Booster Club. “The Groundhog Tournament has a rich history of providing area high school teams the opportunity to compete in a great event that is free for all teams.  Our Booster Club is extremely proud to carry on this tradition for the 20th Anniversary, and we couldn’t do it without our many sponsors that support our program throughout the year.”   

The tournament includes Big Eight Conference teams Sun Prairie and Madison Memorial; Badger North teams Waunakee and DeForest; Badger South teams Oregon and Monona Grove; and two Classic 8 teams, the Waukesha co-op and Kettle Moraine co-op.

The teams play conference games on Tuesday, Jan. 28. Sun Prairie will open the tournament by hosting Madison Memorial with a ceremonial puck drop at 7 p.m.

Tournament play resumes at the Sun Prairie Ice Arena on Jan. 31 with games scheduled for 5:15 p.m., 5:45 p.m., 7:45 p.m. and 8:15 p.m. on the Tubbs and Cardinal rinks. The championship game will be held on Feb. 1 at 7:30 p.m.  The Sun Prairie Booster Club will also host an on-site ticket raffle throughout the tournament with winners announced during the championship game.  

Tag(s): Home  Around the State  Boys Varsity  Badger North  DeForest  Waunakee  Badger South  Monona Grove  Oregon  Big Eight  Madison Memorial  Sun Prairie  Classic Eight  KMMO  Waukesha