skip navigation

Team Wisconsin heads to Minnesota for the CCM NIT

04/24/2019, 9:15pm CDT
By Michael Trzinski, WiPH Staff & Submitted

Two boys teams and one girls team to compete April 25-28

Three teams representing Wisconsin will travel one state to the west this week and challenge in the CCM NIT tournament that will be held in two locations around the Twin Cities.

The TW boys will have a pair of squads: Seniors and HP-18s (Juniors). The girls will send one team that is comprised of both seniors (7) and juniors (11).

"This year's teams represent a wide range of players," said Senior coach Tim Ebner. "The coaches are excited to work with each group and see what they can accomplish in a short time frame."

The boys games will be contested at long-time site, Plymouth Ice Arena. This is the tenth year for the boys tourney. The TW team won the inaugural event in 2010, while the TW Seniors won the crown in 2017. This year marks the sixth time that the Junior team is participating.

Ebner noted, "The NIT requires a high level of skill and work ethic and with the senior team having eight players returning from last year’s HP-18 team, they will play a big part in preparing the players who have not been there before."

On the girls side, the games will be played at Fogerty Ice Arena in Blaine. This year will be the ninth year of the tournament, which TW won in back-to-back years (2014, 2015).

"I believe we have a solid roster," stated TW girls' coach Dave Witting. "We have two new goaltenders in (Abigail) Severson and (Emma) Quimby. They had good high school seasons."

Witting added, "The Minnesota teams are very high level competition. We don't know much about North Dakota, but it will be good competition for the girls team."

TW Seniors Schedule

Date Time Visitor Home
Thur, 4/25 4:30pm TW Seniors MN Seniors
Fri, 4/26 2:15pm Mass TW Seniors
Sat, 4/27 2:30pm TW Seniors Mich HP 18

TW HP 18 schedule

Date Time Visitor Home
Thur, 4/25 6:45pm Mich Seniors TW HP 18
Fri, 4/26 9:00pm TW HP 18 MN HP 18
Sat, 4/27 4:45pm TW HP 18 North Dakota

TW girls schedule

Date Time Visitor Home
Fri, 4/26 12:15pm Team WI MN 17 Blue
Fri, 4/26 5:45pm Team WI MN 18U
Sat, 4/27 1:45pm North Dakota Team WI
Sat, 4/27 7:15pm Team WI MN Seniors

Team wisconsin seniors

Coaches: Tim Ebner, Joel Marshall, Josh Engel

No. Name Pos. Team
1 Gavin Abric G Hayward
2 Hunter Stracka * D Madison Edgewood
3 Bo Bergenthal * D Middleton
4 Jake Osiecki * D Verona
5 Ryan Gargaro D Onalaska/LaCrosse
6 Kade Binger D Verona
7 Jack Helle D Madison Memorial
8 Zach Welsch * F St. Mary's Springs
9 Colton Flammini F Wisconsin Rapids
10 Grant Sorensen * F Superior
11 Sam Techel * F Wausau West
12 Travis Kernen * F Sun Prairie
14 Cayden Laurvick F Superior
15 Dillon Fox F Neenah/Hortonville/Menasha
16 Tyler Nelson F Madison Memorial
18 Jack Rhode F Northland Pines
19 Chad Larsen F Waukesha
20 Hayden Bradbury F New Richmond
21 Cole Danielson F Hudson
30 Garrett Larsen * G Waukesha

*=Played in 2018 on HP-18 team

team wisconsin hp-18 (juniors)

Coaches: Eric Fenton, Cal Roadhouse, Matt Medvecz

No. Name Pos. Team
1 Bo Buckley G Notre Dame Academy
2 Jacob Conrad D Notre Dame Academy
3 Casey Roepke D University School
4 Alex Thundercloud D University School
5 Jacob Cebula D Wausau West
6 Conner Abric D Hayward
7 Max Popp D Onalaska/La Crosse
8 Riley Jelinek F Sauk Prairie
9 CJ Lass F Onalaska/La Crosse
10 Dominic Murano F WNS Storm
11 Tyler Herzberg F University School
12 Caden Carlson F Fond du Lac
14 Cole Carlson F Fond du Lac
15 Gunnar Schiffmann F/D Northland Pines
16 Sawyer Scholl F/D Notre Dame Academy
17 Mack Keryluk F Verona
18 Thomas Weis F Madison Edgewood
19 Barrett Brooks F Stevens Point
20 Max Savaloja F Eau Claire Memorial
30 Jacob Mork G Neenah/Hortonville/Menasha

team wisconsin girls

Coaches: Dave Witting, Mike Sullivan

No. Name Pos. Year Team
1 Emma Quimby G 11 Hayward
2 Drew Deanovich * D 12 Warbirds
3 Eve Lundin D 12 Warbirds
4 Lauren Donnellan * D 11 Hayward
5 Zoe Lohrei D 11 Madison Caps
6 Lauryn Hull * F 12 Fox Cities Stars
7 Alyssa Heim F 12 Warbirds
8 Hadley Malcolmson * F 11 Brookfield
9 Eden Gruber F 11 CW Storm
10 Ava Kison * F 12 ECA Stars
11 Maddy Jablonski F 11 Fox Cities Stars
12 Kiley Hahner * F 12 CW Storm
13 Annika Horman * F 11 Fox Cities Stars
14 Claire Casey F 11 Gentry Academy
17 Hattie Verstegen F 11 Warbirds
18 Taylar Meier D 11 Gentry Academy
19 Eve Parker F 12 Madison Caps
20 Abby Severson G 11 Viroqua

*=Played in 2018 on TW team

Tag(s): Home  Around the State  WiPH Exclusives