skip navigation

Herzberg earns boys' state tournament MVP

03/02/2019, 10:45pm CST
By Michael Trzinski, WiPH Staff

USM junior leads all scorers in goals, assists, points

University School of Milwaukee won its third state tournament title, and a large part of the credit goes to junior forward Tyler Herzberg, who was named the state tournament MVP by selected media members.

Herzberg scored a tournament high eight points on three goals and five assists, which were also good enough to lead all scorers. He also ranked second with plus/minus of +7.

University School edged Onalaska 4-3 on Quarterfinal Thursday; blanked Verona 5-0 on Semifinal Friday, and dominated Neenah/Hortonville/Menasha 6-2 in the title game on Saturday.

1st team

Tyler Herzberg, jr., University School
Robby Newton, sr., University School
Dillon Fox, sr., Neenah/Hortonville/Menasha

Casey Roepke, jr., University School
Luke Elkin, so., Neenah/Hortonville/Menasha

Patrick Kelly, jr., University School

2nd team

Mack Keryluk, jr., Verona
Thomas Knoke, sr., Waukesha
Ethan Long, jr., Neenah/Hortonville/Menasha

Alex Thundercloud, jr., University School
Jake Osiecki, sr., Verona

Jake Mork, jr., Neenah/Hortonville/Menasha

honorable mention

Eric Alberts, sr., Neenah/Hortonville/Menasha
Ethan Mann, so., University School
Will Bryant, sr., Onalaska/LaCrosse
Leo Renlund, so., Verona
Blake Carey, jr., University School
Chad Larsen, sr., Waukesha

Ethan Ford, sr., University School
Max Popp, jr., Onalaska/LaCrosse
Ryan Gargaro, sr., Onalaska/LaCrosse

Garrett Larsen, sr., Waukesha

Tag(s): Home  Around the State  WiPH Exclusives  State Tournament  Boys Varsity  Neenah/Hortonville/Menasha  Verona  Eau Claire North  Hudson  University School  Waukesha  Onalaska/La Crosse  Wausau West