skip navigation

WiPH Award winners announced

By Michael Trzinski, WiPH Staff, 03/02/19, 10:45AM CST


Saturday morning banquet attended by more than 170

The 2018-19 version of the Wisconsin Prep Hockey (WiPH) End of Season awards were handed out Saturday morning at the Coliseum Bar and Banquet in Madison.

More than 170 people in attendance looked on as awards were presented for each position, plus the 'Unsung Hero' awards for both boys and girls. 

Winners listed in BOLD below.

Jinelle Siergiej Award (Girls Forward)

(From left to right): Zoe Sternberg, Maddy Jablonski, Hadley Malcolmson, Ava Kison. (Not pictured: Kaley Manglitz, Sydney Hendricks.)

joe pavelski award (boys forward)

(From left to right): Zach Urdahl, Sam Stange, Drake Baldwin, Robby Newton, Jack Rhode

molly engstrom award (girls defenseman)

(From left to right): Anna Albrightson, Bailey Williams, Charlotte Akervik, Drew Deanovich, Lauren Donnellan

davis drewiske award (boys defenseman)

(From left to right): Tucker Wittkopf, Jake Osiecki, Hunter Stracka, Casey Roepke, Alex Thundercloud

jessie vetter award (girls goalie)

(From left to right): Sidney Seeley, Pistol Cowden, Josie Mathison, Emma Quimby, Abby Severson

kirk daubenspeck award (boys goalie)

(From left to right): Gavin Abric, Garrett Larsen. (Not pictured: Brett Wilkins, Jaden Hoople, Max Gutjahr.)

Rachel kenyon award (girls unsung hero)

Libby Hennelly, USM

The University School co-op girls hockey team would like sing the praises of Libby Hennelly for the Rachel Bible Unsung Hero Award.

Libby has been one of our top defensemen since she was a freshman, although this does not often show on the offensive side of the scoresheet, racking up only 2 goals so far in her high school career.

She is one of the fiercest players we have. You don’t want to end up on a 1 on 1 with this girl. You don’t want to end up in a corner battle with this girl. You don’t want to end up in front of the net with this girl. You definitely don’t want to be a forward when this girl aggressively comes pinching down the boards.

Libby is our consistent silent leader; she has fun working hard. Whether it be at practice, games, off-ice workouts, or community service and outreach, she approaches every situation with tenacity and determination. She is committed; she is successful.

She doesn’t speak much, but when she does, everyone either laughs with her or listens to her. Our girls feed off of her energy and positive attitude.

Like any great song, you don’t want it to end. Although Libby’s High School career is coming to a close, her legacy will always be a key piece of the Wildcat co-op history.

For these reasons, we believe that Libby would embody Rachel Bible’s legacy. We recommend Libby Hennelly for the 2019 Unsung Hero Award.

-USM Co-op Coaching Staff

adam burish award (boys unsung hero)

Austin Federici, Wausau West

Austin is a young man who understands the goals of the team and does many things that will never show up on the scoreboard.

He takes great pride in his ability to block shots. He is willing to sacrifice his body in all situations on the ice but really embraces that role on the PK. He, at multiple times this season has dove to re-direct or block a shot with any part of his body the puck hits. This attitude creates instant energy for our team and his teammates rally around this attitude.

He is a young man who was just accepted into the US Military Academy and will continue to understand the goals of the team as he serves our country.

He is an outstanding young man who is well deserving of the Adam Burish Award.

-West coach BJ Brandt